2019 Grady College faculty and staff recognitions

2019 Grady College faculty and staff recognitions

June 11, 2019
Dayne Youngdayne@uga.edu

Grady College celebrated excellent work from faculty and staff with a May 1 reception and awards announcement.

Kate Fortmueller, Kim Landrum, Jonathan Peters and Kirsten Strausbaugh were named outstanding teaching faculty for their respective departments.

“Winning departmental teacher of the year is no small feat at Grady College, which abounds with excellent instructors,” said Grady College dean Charles N. Davis. “It’s why we are here at the end of the day, and each of these teachers sets a high standard in and out of the classroom.”

[metaslider id=”21587″]

Fortmueller, assistant professor of entertainment & media studies, teaches media writing and media studies. Her research focus is labor in the media industry.

Landrum, public relations lecturer, teaches graphic communication and helps students develop skillsets using the Adobe Creative Suite.

Peters, assistant professor in journalism, teaches communication law and policy. He is also the press freedom correspondent for the Columbia Journalism Review.

Strausbaugh, senior lecturer in Advertising, teaches advertising message strategy, campaigns and graphics communications.

The Darwin Davis Award established by Dean Emeritus Cully Clark and his wife, Mary, was announced. It recognizes a member of Grady College’s faculty or staff whose work reflects the dedication and friendship that best capture the spirit of Grady.

Keith Herndon, director of the Cox Institute and Morris Chair in News Strategy and Management, was honored as 2019 recipient of the Darwin Davis Award.

Michael Cacciatore, assistant professor in public relations, was recognized with the Roland Page Award given to outstanding graduate faculty.

The Vera Penn Award is given annually to an exemplary member of the Grady College staff. The 2019 winner of the Vera Penn Award is business manager Terri Baker.

The Joyce Burton Award for excellence was presented to Anne Hurne, student affairs professional in the graduate studies office.