Chris Rock, Will Ferrell, Steve Carell and others to present 81st annual Peabody Awards

Chris Rock, Will Ferrell, Steve Carell and others to present 81st annual Peabody Awards

June 17, 2021

Winners to be Presented Virtually Over Four Consecutive Days Beginning
Monday, June 21
From Noon – 1:30 p.m. EST
Twitter: @PeabodyAwards  ||  Instagram:  @PeabodyAwards  ||  Facebook:  Peabody Awards
#PeabodyAwards #StoriesThatMatter

Peabody today announced that Chris Rock, Will Ferrell, Steve Carell, Goldie Hawn, Taraji P. Henson, Cynthia Erivo, Selma Blair, Sandra Oh, Trevor Noah, Eva Longoria, Thandiwe Newton, Charlamagne tha God, America Ferrera, Kristen Bell, Guillermo del Toro, and more will present the winners of the 81st Annual Peabody Awards. The 30 winners will be named across major social media channels beginning June 21 through June 24. Celebrity presenters will announce each winner via a short video which will include remarks from the winners. The Awards presentation will take place between Noon and 1:30 p.m. EST each day on the website and social media platforms listed above.

This announcement comes on the heels of the recent news that Peabody honored Ava DuVernay’s ARRAY with the Institutional Award (presented by Oprah), Sam Pollard with the Career Achievement Award (presented by Raoul Peck) and Judy Woodruff with the Journalistic Integrity Award (presented by Jane Fonda).

The full list of presenters for the 81st Annual Peabody Awards includes America Ferrera, Brittany Packnett Cunningham, Charlamagne tha God, Chris Rock, Cynthia Erivo, D. L. Hughley, Deborah Roberts, Emmanuel Acho, Eva Longoria, Goldie Hawn, Guillermo del Toro, Hasan Minhaj, Jane Fonda, Jemele Hill, Karl-Anthony Towns, Keith Ellison, Kristen Bell, Natasha Lyonne, Oprah Winfrey, Questlove, Raoul Peck, Ronan Farrow, Sandra Oh, Sanjay Gupta, Selma Blair, Soledad O’Brien, Steve Carell, Taraji P. Henson, Thandiwe Newton, Trevor Noah, and Will Ferrell.

“This extraordinary group of individuals reflects the diverse backgrounds and forms of storytelling we seek to honor,” said Jeffrey Jones, executive director of Peabody. “We’re thrilled these amazing talents would honor this year’s winners, but also for their taking the time to help shine a light on the powerful issues and themes our winners often represent.”

The full list of the 60 nominees for the 81st Annual Peabody Awards is available here.

The Peabody Awards were founded in 1940 at Grady College and are still based in Athens today.

Chosen each year by a diverse Board of Jurors through unanimous vote, Peabody Awards are given in the categories of entertainment, documentary, news, podcast/radio, arts, children’s and youth, public service, and multimedia programming. The annual Peabody winners are a collection of 30 stories that powerfully reflect the pressing social issues and the vibrant emerging voices of our day.