UGA PRSSA team wins bid for UGA to host 2015 PRSSA National Conference

The University of Georgia will host the 2015 Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) National Conference in Atlanta thanks to a successful bid made by a team of Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication students.

Six students from the John E. Drewry Chapter of PRSSA at UGA presented their 40-page bid before the National PRSSA Committee Oct. 10 in Washington, D.C., the site of the 2014 PRSSA National Conference.

The students included team leader Avia Meadows and members Maya Daniels, Jasmine Johnson, Kaitlyn Peel, Kelly Tran and Kelsey Wood as well as their faculty advisor, Betty Jones.

“Our driving force is really our alumni base…and basically what we could offer for the conference,” team leader Avia Meadows said.

Team member Kelsey Wood added, “Our connections are invaluable. We have Grady grads all over the world and especially in Atlanta. You can walk into any office in Atlanta and find Grady grads.”

The team promoted the potential for all Grady College undergraduates to help in the process of making the event happen. They listed numerous ways in which students could aid in the promotional side of the conference by creating collateral, making videos and organizing social media.

The team’s proposal also included lists of potential workshops, keynote speakers, social media plans, food and sponsors.

The UGA PRSSA Conference team will work closely with the National PRSSA Committee to plan the 2015 conference, which will be held Nov. 6-10 at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis Hotel.

About the John E. Drewry Chapter

The John E. Drewry Chapter of PRSSA at the University of Georgia is the largest chapter in the world with more than 250 active members. Named after the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication’s first dean, it was founded at the University in 1969. Currently, Dr. Betty Jones is the faculty advisor and Katherine Strate is the professional advisor.

Date: October 13, 2014
Author:  Michael Bragg,
Contact:  Betty Jones,