2019 Grady College faculty and staff recognitions

Grady College celebrated excellent work from faculty and staff with a May 1 reception and awards announcement.

Kate Fortmueller, Kim Landrum, Jonathan Peters and Kirsten Strausbaugh were named outstanding teaching faculty for their respective departments.

“Winning departmental teacher of the year is no small feat at Grady College, which abounds with excellent instructors,” said Grady College dean Charles N. Davis. “It’s why we are here at the end of the day, and each of these teachers sets a high standard in and out of the classroom.”

  • EMST teacher of the year Kate Fortmueller.

Fortmueller, assistant professor of entertainment & media studies, teaches media writing and media studies. Her research focus is labor in the media industry.

Landrum, public relations lecturer, teaches graphic communication and helps students develop skillsets using the Adobe Creative Suite.

Peters, assistant professor in journalism, teaches communication law and policy. He is also the press freedom correspondent for the Columbia Journalism Review.

Strausbaugh, senior lecturer in Advertising, teaches advertising message strategy, campaigns and graphics communications.

The Darwin Davis Award established by Dean Emeritus Cully Clark and his wife, Mary, was announced. It recognizes a member of Grady College’s faculty or staff whose work reflects the dedication and friendship that best capture the spirit of Grady.

Keith Herndon, director of the Cox Institute and Morris Chair in News Strategy and Management, was honored as 2019 recipient of the Darwin Davis Award.

Michael Cacciatore, assistant professor in public relations, was recognized with the Roland Page Award given to outstanding graduate faculty.

The Vera Penn Award is given annually to an exemplary member of the Grady College staff. The 2019 winner of the Vera Penn Award is business manager Terri Baker.

The Joyce Burton Award for excellence was presented to Anne Hurne, student affairs professional in the graduate studies office.


2017 Grady College faculty and staff recognitions

Grady College celebrated the many accomplishments and accolades of its faculty and staff on April 17, 2017, in the Peyton Anderson Forum.

Anettra Mapp, program operations coordinator, was honored with the Darwin Davis Award. Mapp handles budget and logistics for the Health and Medical Journalism graduate program and Knight Chair activities, including the Knight Health Graduate Student Travel Fund.

Made possible by an endowment from Dean Emeritus Cully Clark and his wife Mary, the Darwin Davis was established to recognize a member of the faculty or staff whose performance reflects those qualities of dedication and friendship that best capture the “Grady Spirit.”

Karen Andrews presents Anettra Mapp with the 2017 Darwin Davis Award.
Karen Andrews presents Anettra Mapp with the 2017 Darwin Davis Award.

“In her 11 years of service at Grady College, Anettra has demonstrated a powerful commitment and loyalty to the values of the college,” said Karen Andrews, director of special events and student leadership, and the 2016 winner of the award. “She has always been willing to step in and help. If she doesn’t know the answer, she’ll get it and get back to you. She always wants to make sure that she has that customer service that we all find so gracious and helpful.”

Karen King, Bryan Reber and John Weatherford were recognized as outstanding teaching faculty.

King, Jim Kennedy New Media Professor, teaches advertising media planning, advertising campaigns and advertising research. Her research interests include advertising industry issues and health communication.

Reber, AdPR assistant department dead and the C. Richard Yarbrough Professor in Crisis Communication Leadership, teaches public relations, management, and writing.  His research foci are public relations and health and crisis communication.

Teaching in the Department of Entertainment and Media Studies, Weatherford’s courses cover topics including iOS app development, emerging photographic technologies, and digital product design. He also serves on the steering committee for TEDxUGA as Director of Production and Photography.

Recognized for their years of service to the college were Bill Lee, 40 years; David Hazinski, 30 years; Lee Becker, Ann Hollifield and Nate Kohn, 20 years; Karen Andrews, Maria Cooper, Michelle McFalls, 10 years; and Denise Mattox, 5 years.

Faculty members Lee Becker, Lynne Sallot and Pat Thomas were wished well in retirement.

Other recognitions included:

  • AdPR Departmental Outstanding TA Awards: LaShonda Eaddy, public relations, and Dongwon Choi, advertising
  • AdPR Part-time Instructor of the Year: Bryan Salas
  • Graduate Student Research Excellence Award in Honor of Dr. Leonard Reid: Hyejin Bang
  • Graduate Student Travel Award in Honor of Dr. Dean Krugman: Jung Min Hahm
  • Joyce Burton Award for Excellence: Karen Andrews
  • Roland Page Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award: Bart Wojdynski
  • Vera Penn Staff Award for Excellence: Stephanie Moreno

Photos from the reception are on the UGA Grady Flickr account.