Caroline Beasley to receive Distinguished Achievement Award

The University of Georgia Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication’s national broadcast society, DiGamma Kappa, will present Caroline Beasley with its annual Distinguished Achievement in Broadcasting and Cable Award.

The award will be presented Jan. 25 at DiGamma Kappa’s annual awards banquet at the Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries and is co-sponsored by the Georgia Association of Broadcasters and Grady College.

Beasley, a graduate from the University of North Carolina, currently serves as the chief executive officer of Beasley Broadcast Group, Inc.

Since joining the company in 1983, Beasley has served as director, executive vice president, chief financial officer, treasurer and secretary. She also currently serves as joint board chair of the National Associate of Broadcasters and is the past chairman of the NAB Radio Board.

Beasley has been recognized by numerous awards such as the 2016 Distinguished Service Award from the North Carolina Association of Broadcasters and the 2012 Frances Preston Trailblazer Award from the Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio Group.

In addition, in 2017 she was honored by Radio Ink magazine as Radio Executive of the Year and was named one of the 40 Most Powerful People in Radio in 2011, 2012, 2016 and 2017.

The Distinguished Achievement in Broadcasting and Cable Award is presented by DiGamma Kappa. Previous winners include Tony Barnhart (2017), David Chandley (2016) and Amy Robach (2015).

DiGamma Kappa celebrates its 78th anniversary this year.  It is the nation’s oldest student broadcast society and was founded at Grady College. DiGamma Kappa encourages student participation in all phases of production for television and radio and fosters professional competence among its members.  It also strives to promote a high quality of broadcast journalism while adhering to outstanding ethical standards.