Nominate a Deserving Grady Grad for an Alumni Award

The deadline to nominate an outstanding alumnus for a 2014 Grady College Distinguished Alumni Award is Friday, February 7.

Four awards are presented each year to successful alumni who have made significant contributions to their professions since leaving Grady College. The 2014 Alumni Award winners will be honored at the Alumni Awards Brunch on Thursday, May 8, in Athens.

The four award categories include:

The John Holliman Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award. The Holliman award honors a graduate for sustained contributions to the profession throughout a career.

The Henry W. Grady Award for Mid-Career Achievement. The Grady award honors a mid-career graduate with 10-20 years of experience who has been successful and influential during his/her career.

The John E. Drewry Award for Young Alumni Achievement. The Drewry award honors a graduate with 10 years or less of experience who has seen exciting and productive career developments in the years closely following graduation.

The Distinguished Alumni Scholar Award. The Alumni Scholar award honors an alumnus for excellence and sustained contributions to scholarship in journalism and mass communication education.

In 2013, alumni awards were presented to Claude Felton (ABJ ’70, MA ’72), Marie Hardin (PhD ’98),  Ben Mayer (ABJ '06) William Ostick (ABJ '88). Please click here to complete and submit the 2014 award nomination form online. 

Nominations must be submitted by 5 p.m. on February 7.

Questions? Contact  Diane H. Murray, Director of Alumni Relations and Outreach, 706-542-5038,


Date: January 9, 2014

Contact:  Diane Murray,