Photo collage of Morgan Freeman, Melissa McCarthy and others who will present the 82nd Peabody Awards
Virtual presenters of the 82nd Peabody Awards include (from left): Morgan Freeman, Melissa McCarthy, John Legend, H.E.R. and Kevin Bacon. (Photos: Courtesy of Peabody)

Melissa McCarthy, Morgan Freeman, John Legend and More to Present the 82nd Annual Peabody Awards

Peabody announced that Melissa McCarthy, Morgan Freeman, John Legend, Kevin Bacon, H.E.R., Ethan Hawke, Jon Stewart, Hasan Minhaj, Riz Ahmed, LeVar Burton, Jenny Slate, Malcolm Gladwell, Adam Scott, and more will present the winners of the 82nd Annual Peabody Awards. The 30 winners will be announced on the Peabody Awards’ social media channels June 6-9. A celebrity presenter will announce each winner via a short video that will include an acceptance speech.

The Awards presentations will take place between noon and 2:30 EST each day on the following platforms:

Twitter:           @PeabodyAwards

Instagram:      @PeabodyAwards

Facebook:       Peabody Awards


Hashtags:         #PeabodyAwards #StoriesThatMatter

This announcement follows the recent news that Peabody has honored “Fresh Air with Terry Gross” with the Institutional Award (presented by Stephen Colbert), Dan Rather with the Career Achievement Award (presented by Dolly Parton), and TV Rain/Dozhd with the Journalistic Integrity Award.

The full list of presenters for the 82nd Annual Peabody Awards includes Riz Ahmed, Christiane Amanpour, Kevin Bacon, W. Kamau Bell, LeVar Burton, Jelani Cobb, Stephen Colbert, Jay Ellis, Tan France, Morgan Freeman, Malcolm Gladwell, Ethan Hawke, Ibram X. Kendi, H.E.R., Rep. Adam Kinzinger, John Legend, Lisa Ling, Melissa McCarthy, Hasan Minhaj, Stanley Nelson, Soledad O’Brien, Dolly Parton, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Rep. Adam Schiff, Adam Scott, Amanda Seales, Jenny Slate, Joey Soloway, Bryan Stevenson, and Jon Stewart.

The full list of the 60 nominees for the 82nd Annual Peabody Awards is available here.

Date: June 1, 2022

Contact:  Christine Drayer,