A stack of newspapers is shown beside a photo of Betty Gage Holland.
Nominations for the 2017-18 academic year must be submitted no later than June 1.

Submissions open for 2018 Betty Gage Holland Award

The award recognizes excellence in college journalism

The University of Georgia Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication is accepting submissions through June 1, 2018, for the Betty Gage Holland Award for excellence in college journalism.

The Holland Award recognizes campus journalists and their publications for distinguished service to honor and protect the integrity of public dialogue on America’s college campuses.

The annual award is co-sponsored by the James M. Cox Jr. Institute for Journalism Innovation, Management and Leadership at Grady College and the Student Press Law Center headquartered in Washington, D.C. It honors the late Betty Gage Holland, long-time friend of journalism education at UGA.

An award of $1,000 is made to the winning journalist(s) and an additional $1,000 to the sponsoring news organization. The prize and winning entry are featured at the annual Management Seminar for College News Editors, which will be held July 22-27, 2018.

Of special importance to judges are news stories, institutional editorials, personal commentaries or columns that single out for public examination any act that results in distortion or pollution of the public discourse. Use of open records or “sunshine” laws is deemed particularly meritorious if the result shows the people’s business being done.

Nominations for the award may be made by or on behalf of any journalist(s) regularly enrolled in a university or college at the time of publication and also by or on behalf of any campus news organization-whether independent or university supported-that published the pertinent material.

Nominations for the 2017-18 academic year must be submitted no later than June 1, and should include an endorsement of no more than 300 words and three (3) links to all news stories and commentary submitted for consideration (or PDF duplicates, if not published online).

Send nominations and supporting materials Stephanie Moreno at s.moreno@uga.edu.

Previous winners and additional information may be found at www.grady.uga.edu/holland-award.

Date: April 23, 2018

Contact:  Stephanie Moreno,  s.moreno@uga.edu