The National Academy of Arts and Sciences nominates Dodie Cantrell-Bickley into its Silver Circle.

Dodie Cantrell-Bickley nominated into the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Silver Circle

Dodie Cantrell-Bickley (MFA ’17), lecturer of journalism at Grady College, will be inducted into the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Southeast Chapter Silver Circle on Sept. 7, 2018.

Cantrell-Bickley has over 30 years of experience in television news positions including anchor, investigative reporter, executive producer and news director, serving much of her time at WMAZ-TV in Macon as well as WLTV/WJXX in Jacksonville. She has also served as the president/general manager at CBS, NBC and ABC affiliates. Currently, Cantrell-Bickley co-produces, Newsource, a half-hour newscast that is broadcast four times weekly when school is in session.

The Gold and Silver Circle is a society of honor that recognizes a career dedicated to the advancement of the television and digital media industry.  Induction is a milestone reserved for professionals who have done more than witness change within an industry: They’ve led it.

“Earning a spot in the Gold and Silver Circle is a tremendous accomplishment. What stands out about this year’s class is as much about the future of our field as it is about their past work. These individuals are shaping the direction of our industry,” said NATAS SE President Jeremy Campbell.

This year’s class is composed of sixteen individuals from across the Southeast region. The 2018 Silver Circle represents anchors, reporters, photographers, news directors and educators with twenty-five or more years of experience. Honorees include David Brooks (WXIA Atlanta), Glenn Burns (WSB Atlanta), John Cessarish (WYFF Greenville, SC), Ellen Crooke (TEGNA, Inc), Morse Diggs (WAGA Atlanta), Eddy Elguezabal (Univision Atlanta), Tracy Haynes (Savannah State University), Tony Light (WSB Atlanta), Teya Ryan (GPB Atlanta), Harry Samler (WGCL Atlanta), Russ Spencer (WAGA Atlanta), Tammy Watford (WLOS Asheville, SC). For the first time, NATAS SE will induct a co-anchor team into the same class, Bill Sharpe and Debi Chard (WCSC Charleston, SC). The 2018 Gold Circle honors those with fifty or more years of services to the industry. This year’s honoree is Richard O’Dell of WLTX.

Gold and Silver Circle Inductees are nominated by their peers from across Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, South Carolina and Asheville, North Carolina. Each annual class is chosen by a special selection committee within NATAS SE.

The 2018 Gold and Silver Circle will be honored at the NATAS SE Induction Ceremony hosted by WSB-TV’s Jovita Moore on Sept. 7 at the Grand Hyatt Buckhead.


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional, non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. NATAS membership consists of over 16,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational and scholarship programs for outstanding journalistic work. For more information, please visit

Date: August 7, 2018

Editor:  Jessica Twine,