The 2018 McGill Fellows include: Top Row: Kristen Adaway, Nicki Brown, Miranda Daniel, John Durham, Christina Matacotta, Jed May Bottom Row: Danny McArthur, Charlotte Norsworthy, Maddie Ray, Casey Rose, Erin Schilling, Alex Soderstrom, Becca Wright

2018 McGill Fellows, Symposium participants named

The McGill program for journalistic courage is pleased to announce its 2018 McGill Fellows and symposium journalists and experts who will participate in a day-long exploration of courage in journalism.

The twelfth-annual McGill symposium will be presented by Grady College on Nov. 8, 2018.

Thirteen undergraduate journalism students have been named 2018 McGill Fellows. They were selected by a faculty committee “for their strength in academics, practical experience and leadership,” said Diane Murray, public service faculty and director of the McGill Program for Journalistic Courage, who chaired the committee.

The McGill Fellows are:

  • Kristen Adaway (Covington, Georgia)
  • Nicki Brown (Buford, Georgia)
  • Miranda Daniel (Woodland, Georgia)
  • John Durham (Alpharetta, Georgia)
  • Christina Matacotta (Marietta, Georgia)
  • Jed May (Colbert, Georgia)
  • Danny McArthur (McRae, Georgia)
  • Charlotte Norsworthy (Midway, Georgia)
  • Maddie Ray (Columbus, Georgia)
  • Casey Rose (Snellville, Georgia)
  • Erin Schilling (Peachtree City, Georgia)
  • Alex Soderstrom (Woodstock, Georgia)
  • Becca Wright (Savannah, Georgia)

The McGill Fellows will participate in the McGill Symposium, which brings together students, faculty and leading journalists and experts to consider what journalistic courage means and how it is exemplified by reporters and editors.

Professionals participating it the 2018 McGill Symposium including the following:

  • Ivan Maisel, senior writer, ESPN, will discuss “When reporting becomes personal.”
  • Alice Li and Whitney Shefte, video journalists with the Washington Post, will talk about their coverage of the Parkland, Florida, shooting, “When the Storytellers Become the Story.”
  • Max Blau (MFA ’18), a freelance journalist, leads the talk about his work covering the opioid crisis, “Telling the story of addiction.”
  • Marshall Shepherd, director of Atmospheric Sciences, University of Georgia, will discuss climate change and science deniers, “Defending science in an era of division.”

The day concludes with the McGill Lecture, featuring Marina Walker Guevera, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist who serves as deputy director of the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists. Guevera will discuss “Trust, technology and teamwork can reveal a global truth.” The lecture is part of the University’s Signature Lecture Series and will be held at 4 p.m. in Studio 100 at Grady College.

While the McGill Lecture at 4 p.m. is open to the public, the symposium is reserved for Fellows and select classes of Grady College students.

Following the Symposium, the McGill Fellows will help select the recipient of the McGill Medal, awarded annually to a U.S. journalist whose career has exemplified journalistic courage. They will conclude their fellowship with a one-hour independent study on journalistic courage, to be taught by Murray in the spring.

Joining Murray on the selection committee were Grady faculty Keith Herndon, Janice Hume, Mark Johnson and Vicki Michaelis.

For 40 years, the McGill Lecture has brought significant figures in journalism to the University of Georgia to help us honor Ralph McGill’s courage as an editor. McGill, while editor and publisher of The Atlanta Constitution, was regarded as the “conscience of the south,” using the newspaper’s editorial pages to challenge segregation in the 1950s and 1960s. McGill was awarded a Pulitzer Prize in 1958 for “long, courageous and effective leadership.”

Established in 1978, this University of Georgia annual lecture series addresses major issues impacting the American press.

The McGill Symposium is funded by the McGill Lecture Endowment.

Date: October 29, 2018
Author:  Sarah Freeman,